2017-2018 Premier Predictors

Wow! what an amazing season it has been! - West Brom relegated, Villa failed at the last hurdle to get promoted, and Wolves champions!!!

When inviting you to play 'Premier Predictors' last summer, I jokingly wrote as a 'rule' that I would award 60 points if the Wolves won the Championship! Well they just have! This has resulted in me having to make good on what I typed in black and white. This has had a dramatic effect on the League table.

So lets see how well you got on! The 'Actual Final Results' compare your predictions with how the season actually ended up. Whereas the 'Accumulator Final Results' are snapshots taken throughout the season, with points accumulated from each snapshot taken. See further details below. So for the results!

Actual Final Results
 @ season end on 26/05/2018

Accumulator Final Results @ season end on 26/05/2018


Bryan Richens 
(2017/18 Winning Premier Predictor --> Actual & Accumulator)

Congratulations Bryan! - What an incredible talent Bryan is!
Our Messages Congrats 80s

Bryan's family were snapping at his heels thoughout the season (i.e., Richens Lads, Ann and David), but Bryan's experience was key, as his predictions came good in the end. And remember, Bryan won both the 'Actual' and 'Accumulator' competitions. In the first season of 'Premier Predictors' you have set a very high bar Bryan, which others will struggle to follow in 2018/19. Well done again!

Adrian Guest
(2017/18 Runner-up 'Actual Premier Predictor')

Adrian nipped ahead of the Richens Lads into 2nd place when Real Madrid beat Liverpool in the Champions League Final. Adrian's skill was particularly evident when predicting the outcomes of the cup competitions, i.e., scoring a total of 60 points for his expertise in forcasting the outcome of the League Cup, FA Cup and Champions League. In fact, if the Wolves factor was removed from the calculations, Adrian would have been our champion this season. This represents a tremendous season. Well done Adrian.

So what happens next?

We have to wait until mid-July until you can enter the 2018/19 competition. A summary of the rules for 2017/18 are outlined below:

Reminder... How to score points?

10 points --> If you predict the correct positioning of a team (i.e., Leicester City finish 10th and they do = 10 points)

5 points --> If your team is one place above/below your prediction (i.e., Leicester City finish 9th or 11th = 5 points)

1 point --> If your team is two places above/below your prediction (i.e., Leicester City finish 8th or 12th = 1 point)

-5 points --> If your team are 5 places above/below your prediction (i.e., Leicester finish 5th or 15th = -5 points)

-10 points --> If your team are 10 places above/below your predictionEvents Premier Predictors 2


Points will also be awarded as follows for predicting the following:

10 points = 2017/18 Community Shield Winner

20 points = 2017/18 Champions League winner
10 points = English team who progresses furthest in Champions League (10 points each if they reach same point)

20 points = FA Cup Winner
10 points = FA Cup Runner-up
5 points = FA Cup Semi-Finalists

20 points = League Cup Winner
10 points = League Cup Runner-up
5 points = League Cup Semi-Finalists

20 points = Championship winner (60 points if the Wolves!)
10 points = Runner-up + Play-off place winner

What did I have to do to take part?

1. Complete the ‘Premier Predictor Competition’ form

2. Return your completed sheet to Andy Watkins by 05/08/2018

3. There was no charge for taking part.

4. It's a bit of fun, but prizes will be awarded throughout the season.Events Premier Predictors 1

How do I win?

There are two ways to win:

Being the best predictor at the end of the 2018/19 football season wins the ‘Premier Predictor Award’

At the end of August / October / December / February / April / May we will have prizes for being the winner to that point in time (i.e., February – prize for the best predictor so far in the season). Points from each month (August / October / December / February / April / May) will be added together for the ‘Accumulator Prize’.

 Upper Gornal
 Methodist Church
 © 2017


01902 662663

Spills Meadow  
Upper Gornal  
West Midlands  
DY3 1YB  


Template by JoomlaShine